Tags

, , , , ,

How better to spend a lazy Sunday than with good food, good coffee and amazing company whilst surrounded by understated style?  Let’s skip the suspense and say that I adored our brunch here.  Upon entering the restaurant you are hit with an air of German elegance and I could have forgotten I was in London.  The restaurant is busy yet calm and diners looked chic and happy.  I visited with my Viennese friend and The Delaunay brought back memories of our carefree time in Vienna visiting beautiful cafes and idling by the Danube.

I went for the blueberry pancakes and my partner in brunch went for an omelette. pancakes The service was quick and attentive, coffee was creamy and aromatic and the food was fabulous.  The pancakes were the fluffiest I have had in London and had a good portion of blueberries and creme fraiche rather than being drowned in compote. Similarly, the omelette was apparently wonderfully cooked with the perfect amount of filling. The menu has a great selection ranging from pastries to bigger lunch options.  The schnitzel particularly caught my eye and it was a very tough choice. Clearly my sweet tooth won out on this occasion.

 

After brunch we ordered tea and sat for a long while catching up.  We were able to stay as long as we pleased without being forced out to make way for more diners which is novel for a central London venue recently.

So… how would I rate The Delaunay?   Like you couldn’t guess.  Everything for me was divine.  The decoration, the staff, the food, the drinks… all perfection. I have read a few reviews which state that the menu is overpriced but for the location and quality of the food it is actually very reasonably priced coming to around £40 for both of us. If you are visiting London as a tourist and want a nice brunch to start your day, want a nice venue to take the girls or even if it’s date day, The Delaunay makes for a perfect setting.

10/10 I actually can’t think of a single fault.

Address:

55 Aldwych, London WC2B 4BB

Tel:

020 7499 8558

Website:

thedelaunay.com

